Highlights from the District of Squamish 2018 to 2022 inaugural meeting

Congratulations to the District of Squamish Council 2018 to 2022. The new Council was sworn in Tuesday evening at this Council’s inaugural meeting. Council was processed in by pipers from The Black Tusk Caledonia Pipes and Drum Band and members of the RCMP. Tsawaysia Spukwus (Alice Guss), her daughter Dominique and other members of the Squamish Nation in attendance welcomed and congratulated the new Council with drumming and song. Judge John Milne then presided over the affirmation of the oath of office.

Congratulations to our new Council: Mayor Karen Elliott and Councillors Eric Andersen, John French, Armand Hurford, Chris Pettingill, Doug Race and Jenna Stoner.

Video from last night's event, including Mayor Elliott’s speech (beginning at 36:20) is available to view here.

The District would like to extend best wishes and gratitude to outgoing members of Council for their service to community: Patricia Heintzman, Jason Blackman-Wulff, Susan Chapelle, Peter Kent and Ted Prior.

November 07, 2018

Post your comment


No one has commented on this page yet.

RSS feed for comments on this page | RSS feed for all comments